LPG Gas sensor

LPG Gas sensor

Postby Dukeman » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:11 pm

Can someone please tell what options there are for a LPG gas sensor.

The LPG gas system in the campervan works ok but it uses lots of hose clips etc which being an engineer I know are not fail safe, especially with age.

I plan to replace them all and check the hoses for wear but I would like to install a LPG gas sensor.

Obviously being a young family price is an issue so I would like to know others experiences with gas sensors etc and what is the best option.

Our campervan is a 1984 Mitsi Canter.... oldie but it has been given a new lease of life... still coming to terms how SLOW this thing goes. Only driven once and that was when I brought it a week ago. I got home hope out and laughed. This will be good for my patience...!

Thanks for taking the time to reply.
Dukeman

Re: LPG Gas sensor

Postby Amarlo » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:04 am

Hi,
As with smoke alarms gas sensors are rarely needed untill a crises crops up than afterwards people say (I wish I had ).
With a young family onboard and curuois fingers fit what you can afford they come in all shapes and sizes some with an auto gas cut out,
Also if you are refitting the gas lines and connections think about paying a gas fitter to test them for you,very few people have the right gear to do this !!
Hope you enjoy your new camper but safety is a paramount always,I have seen gas explosions and the aftermath it can cause and it aint pretty !
Regards Dave.
Why bother about trying to rake water uphill ?
Amarlo

Postby Holistic Palace » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:01 am

Our previous camper was a 87 Ford Trader. The rubber connections with the gas setup looked pretty bloody suspect. All the copper welds were checked & rubber pipes, hose tails & reg were replaced... for peace of mind, also looked like the job was needed.
Our controls to the oven & cooker, when shutting them off, if the knob wasn't truly in the "off" position